Skip to content

L.O.V.E

December 3, 2010

We are in Wellington at the moment, and we love it here! The city is so beautiful and energizing and lovely! Love, love, love it!

We are learning quite a bit about love here in NZ. Of course, being newly married and on an adventure together is quite the refining fire. We are learning how to be and how to love each other as best as is possible=equipped by the Lord and His love. This is not the kind of love I want to tell you about, however.

The love that we are learning about that I want to talk about is how to love our neighbor. Being the holiday season and having the family and friends that we do, it has been difficult to not see or talk to them often. We both love to love those we love. Being away from everyone and living with other families and encountering their families and friends, we have been challenged to love those were with. To be honest there have been times when I’ve vented to the Lord how I do not understand why I am having tea with this host, and not by best friends back home, or why I am playing with a stranger’s kids, and not those of my cousins, or why I am helping a host decorate for Christmas, and missing out on doing the same with my mom.

When I finally took a break from my complaining, I was led to this passage in Luke: “If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them. If you do good to those who do good to you, what credit is it to you? or even sinners do the same.” Luke 6:32-33. Now it is clear through the surrounding text that this passage is talking about loving your enemies. I’m not saying that we have enemies here, not in the least. But if we take that passage in the broader sense, it is easy to love those who are like us, look like us, act like us, believe like us. The real challenge is to have love for every single person we encounter.

This is no simple or easy feat, as we’ve come to find, and it is impossible on our own strength. To love, we each need to be filled by the Father’s love, thus enabling ourselves to be vessels overflowing with His love to those around us. I can’t speak for everyone, but I know that people feeling His love for them when I talk to them or engage them would be very satisfying.

I hope that this holiday season is finding all of you, our beloved family and friends in great spirits, and I pray that you are filled with His love and that the Spirit’s moving fills our lives, not just this time of the year, but all year, every year, and that we are able to share His love with the world!

we LOVE You!

Cheers!

a+j

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad/Big I permalink
    December 3, 2010 5:08 am

    J & A, what wonderful comments and insight. It is great to see know how much you are learning, experiencing and growing while on this adventure. We love you too and continue to pray that God will lead, guide and bless you along your way.

    Much Love,
    Dad

  2. Mary Haub permalink
    December 3, 2010 4:37 pm

    that was a fun video! i felt like i was playing a game of hopscotch 🙂

Leave a Reply

