Skip to content

surfing NZ

March 16, 2011

iPod pic of us in our wetsuits post surfing!

WE DID IT!!!!!!!!

I really, really, really wanted to try surfing while we were here. Though as a certain hiking companion of mine can tell you i’ve been a weensy bit afraid of fish, I was determined to face my mild fear of sea creatures and sea plants (seaweed touching my leg=ICK!).

After a morning of work, we set out for an hour+ drive to the town of Raglan, a picturesque place that Lonely Planet touts as being “NZ’s perfect surfing town”. We arrived at the Raglan Surfing School just before our 2 o’clock session was to start. I was glad to hear some of the other students were as nervous and anxious as I, though everyone in our group caught at least a few waves, and everyone had a great time. Our instructors, Andy and Lucy, were the picture of Kiwi surfers, though one was a true Brit and the other a naturalized one. We spent the first hour learning about basics and how to stand up in a old barn, which was super helpful pre-water immersion.

We got to the beach and donned our wetsuits, picked up our boards (“soft tops” or “foamys”-GREAT to learn on, as they are very forgiving!) and headed for the surf. I got a push by Lucy into my first wave, and there was no looking back. Both Justin and I lost count at around 20 waves each! IT WAS A BLAST! Its a workout, suntan, fun session all in one! I was able to “pop up” a few times, and Justin even managed to “drop-in” on a wave! We also managed to high five and hold hands while catching the same wave (cue “awww” sounds).

All in all, i think surfing is going to be a go-to vacation for us. I cannot wait to get back into the waves! We hope to either go back to Raglan this week, or rent boards and suits while we are in Tauranga saying goodbye to some previous hosts.

Seriously, you guys. You have to try surfing!

love,

a & j, keen surf enthusiasts

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    March 16, 2011 2:59 pm

    So jealous! I have always wanted to try surfing! Now I must!! Love it!

  2. March 16, 2011 11:27 pm

    Whoo hoo! Drew and I went surfing in Hawaii, but we might have to make a little trip to Raglan too 🙂

Leave a Reply

