Skip to content

make a bucket list

March 27, 2011

I don’t think its possible to go on a trip like this and not have your eyes opened to a range of possibilities. Both Justin and I have spent moments here or there on this trip imagining all the things we could do. If it is possible to pick up your life and move across the world for six months and have adventures like we’ve had, then surely there is nothing stopping us from doing anything we’d like to!

A few weeks ago, both justin and i started writing down things we really wanted to do as they came to mind. A “bucket list” of sorts you could call it. Mine is already quite extensive, with around 18 i think, last time i counted.

Here are a few from my list:

1. Go to a Concious Eating Intensive at the Tree of Life Rejuvenation Centre

this is basically training and education on preparing raw foods, at the centre that puts on the Simply Raw 30 day program for diabetics, of which i’m keen on!

2. Go to Ireland with my best friends, Emily & Ellen.

Everything that seems important I do with these ladies. We have been talking about Ireland for years, and I know we will go (hopefully soon!)

3. Learn how to do a back hand spring.

a drop out of gymnastics class when I was a child, I have always wanted to learn how to do this, but have been a little scared. No longer!

4. Find a way to make vegan desserts without synthetic ingredients!

though not a vegan (yet :P), minimizing animal dependency seems like a great idea and I love an occasional treat. But all vegan treats (especially those with an icing of sorts) have a synthetic ingredient like margarine, which I am so not down with. this is my quest, and i’m sure justin will love eating my trial and errors πŸ˜›

That’s just a sample, and after a second glance, I have 19 written down so far!

Here are a few from Justin’s list:

1. Master the planche

no doubt he’ll do it, which is awesome! Click on “planche” to see a picture of what it is–>clue: gymnastic/acrobatic feat

2. Β Learn piano

he is self-taught and can write beautiful songs (mostly for me πŸ™‚ ), but being the determined achiever he is, i’m sure he would love to improve his skill

3. Build stuff

One day I think he’ll build me a house, but for now I think mastering a table, chair, or birdhouse is a ‘first step’! πŸ™‚

I think its a great idea to have an idea of things you want to do or achieve, because life goes quickly, and we should have life abundant! So get to it! What are some things that would be on your “bucket list”?

love,

a & j

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellen permalink
    March 27, 2011 3:22 pm

    I want to milk a cow…

  2. March 27, 2011 8:25 pm

    I love bucket lists! I’ve been able to check off a couple in the last month or so (extended travel in NZ and swim with dolphins in open water), but some others are:
    -Build (and live in) a treehouse
    -Travel the Grecian islands
    -Road trip in a camper van down the Pacific Coast Highway
    -Sew my own clothes

    • March 28, 2011 6:01 am

      This is a great place to get things off your list, huh!! All of those sound amazing, Lori! I my self have been longing for a VW campervan…can go anywhere and just sleep in the back!! πŸ™‚

  3. March 28, 2011 11:49 am

    Hmmm, James and I have been thinking about this a lot lately too. We haven’t sat down to put ours in writing yet but I know a few of them:
    1. See a live taping of SNL
    2.Bless someone by giving them a house that is paid off
    3. Go see the pyramids in Egypt

    Thanks for being so inspiring. So ready for you to get back so I can hug your head off.

  4. Bobbie Hamilton permalink
    March 30, 2011 12:53 am

    I will start my bucket list. Had a sister reunion back in Buenos Aires, Argentina! Went back to old argentine neighboorhood and got to see our house, I believe, and recognized the windows and porch and Shoo and Karen recognized the balcony. It is great to be home and will see you all very soon. Love MOm

Leave a Reply

